Activities

Wanaka is a spectacularly beautiful town which offers visitors an unparalleled range of recreational activities including skiing, fishing, horse trekking, bush walking, golf and water sports. An abundance of cafes, restaurants and artistic outlets add a creative edge and the social calendar is always busy with both summer and winter festivals, concerts, a rodeo and the popular bi-annual air-show  'Warbirds over Wanaka'.

Activity Bookings

As a free service for our guests we can pre-book your activities prior to your stay. Simply send us your wish list, ideally at least a week before you arrive, stating number of people taking part, age range and preferred dates. We will respond with activity details, prices, and if relevant, alternative suggestions. As we are not tied to any activity providers we will always offer impartial advice. Of course, we are also available to make any bookings during your stay.

Below is a list of links to many of Wanaka's activity providers but a full list can be found in the Lake Wanaka Tourism site.

In the air:

Southern Alps Air - www.southernalpsair.co.nz/

Aspiring Helicopters - www.aspiringhelicopters.co.nz

Skydive Wanaka - www.skydivewanaka.com

On the water:

River Journeys - www.wanakariverjourneys.co.nz

Eco Wanaka Adventures - www.ecowanaka.co.nz

Fly Fishing - www.wanakaflyfishingacademy.co.nz

Off-road:

Mountain/Heli Biking – Freeride NZ - www.freeridenz.com/bike-tours-new-zealand

Climbing and walking:

Aspiring Guides Wanaka - www.aspiringguides.com

Adventure Consultants - www.adventureconsultants.com

Wine Touring:

Funny French Cars Wanaka - www.funnyfrenchcars.co.nz

Ridgeline Adventures - www.ridgelinenz.com

Golfing:

Wanaka Golf Club - www.wanakagolf.co.nz

Skiing:

In winter Wanaka becomes a picturesque ski town, serving three ski fields - arguably the best in New Zealand:

  • Cardrona offers wide family friendly and snowboard friendly pistes between late June and early October, and is the most popular Wanaka ski field. 
  • Treble Cone, the largest ski area in the South Island, is steep, breathtakingly beautiful and uncrowded. 
  • Snow Farm offers Nordic skiing and a terrain park and is set high on a plateau wilderness.

In common with all ski resorts in New Zealand, the ski fields are remote from the towns that serve them. Cardrona is about 18 minutes drive from Wanaka, Treble Cone is a half-hour drive and the drive to Snow Farm is just over 30 minutes.

 

 
 
+ Text Size -
Original generation time 0.8472 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0002 seconds.